🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Programmer Portfolio Critique

Started by
18 comments, last by LiveAndFight 14 years, 5 months ago
Hey, I was wondering if you guys would be able to critique my website. I have been doing game design and programming for about 12 years on my own. I just graduated from High School about four years ago. Joined the Marine Corp, got a medical discharge. I have been working on getting my portfolio just right, and I hoping I could get some critiques, and maybe some pointers on how to get my foot in the door. www.jmvsoftware.com -Justin Marshall
Advertisement
Positive: I think that the site looks really good, and shows off both your graphics and web programming skills very well. Good job on your engine, by the way!

Negative: The formatting of the comments on some of your screenshots are a little inconsistent. Some sentences are missing periods at the end of them, phrases like look a like should be spelled using their proper dictionary definition (look-alike).

If you really want to impress them, your resume/portfolio has got to be spotless. They will be scrutinized thoroughly, and any obvious mistakes can be (incorrectly) interpreted as a sign that you don't really care about attention to detail or hard work. Of course, your engine shows otherwise, but people like to focus on the one bad thing rather than the hundred good things. Buggers. :)
Thank you for the feedback :). I fixed the image descriptions. Where is a good place to find IT jobs besides Monster and HotJobs? I live in Los Angeles im trying to find a job perferably in game programming, but I am also looking for QA jobs or Information Technology work.
I just added Radiosity Normal Mapping to my engine, if anyone gets a chance to critque my latest screenshot : ).

http://www.jmvsoftware.com/