🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Help picking a college

Started by
4 comments, last by pothb 14 years, 2 months ago
I have been programming on my own for nearly 3 years and I want to program for video games. I feel getting a degree is my best option, or only option, and am willing to travel anywhere in the country. I want to major in CS - software engineering with a minor in game programming.I need help in finding a school that will offer me these courses and that is of god quality in these disciplines. Also I want to be able to use this degree for more then just video game programming if I find myself wanting to do more then just program video games. My current knowledge of programming is based on C/C++, I taught myself C++, I am willing to learn any languages I might need, but would like to have my C++ background be useful to me. Also my wife wants to join the medical field so that must be considered in my selection of a college Regards, Gene Saika
Advertisement
View Forum FAQ (above).

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Thank you,

I read through most of the FAQs on the page and found them helpful, but I might not have been clear as to what I am looking for.

I am trying to build a list of schools that have what I am looking for.

I do not want you to tell me what school to go to, but I would like some ideas.

For the past few months I have been looking into colleges and have yet to find one that fits me.In posting here I was hoping to have some help in finding a college that fits my requirements, which I don't think are too extravagant.

After I have a decent list of college to look into I will, by all means, look at them in more detail then what I initially want.

Sorry if this still is not a question you feel a need to answer.

Regards,
Gene Saika