🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Essays, Activities(school requirements)

Started by
4 comments, last by Obscure 13 years, 11 months ago
Hi,

I`ve almost made my choice for college,but something that caught my eye in the admission requirements was this sentence:

"Please use our form, not your resume, to list your activities. There is only enough space to list five things - please choose the five that mean the most to you and tell us a bit about them. "

To be honest,i have some programming background and some other rather small notable activities.Fortunately, i have some time till the moment that i should apply for a college( maybe 2 and half years.)

I wanted to know which activities are more important and significant in the admissions officers` eye.( in the process of qualifying a CS student.)

Of course,probably you`re not an admission officer,but i hope there is someone with a bit of experience in this matter.

tnx.
Advertisement
Quote: wanted to know which activities are more important and significant

... out of which pool of activities?
Activities that are related to programming and etc.

I think we can categorize the activities in three main groups:

1.academic 2.artistic 3.athletic

but only the first group is relevant to the forum,so i need your suggestions on academic pool.
Quote: Original post by kasra5004
I wanted to know which activities are more important and significant in the admissions officers` eye.( in the process of qualifying a CS student.)

You probably won't believe what I'm going to tell you. Don't bother arguing, okay?

Do those activities that YOU think you should do, and that you WANT to do, not whatever activities might make somebody else think better of you.
It's YOUR life, and you have to live it for YOU -- not for some unknown person.