🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking for advice on what makes good programming demos

Started by
5 comments, last by ApochPiQ 13 years, 9 months ago
Alright... well, here it is, at the risk of being utterly ripped into.

So I'm a recent graduate, and one day I'd like my future to contain a game industry job. So, looking down the list of stuff I need to accumulate... well, the dust cleared, and I realized I don't have a demo.

Crap.

So, here's the question, and I hope it can be answered. Among the people you would seriously consider hiring for a programming position, what are some examples of demos you've seen? In specific, as far as graphics programming and especially shader programming go, what skills should be demonstrated, and what are some good ways to present them?

It's not that I just want to do only enough to turn heads, it's just there's a time when, even though you can and will do more, you have a reasonable chance of landing that interview and should just apply. I'd like to have an idea of how long that will be for me, since that'll give me an idea of what my immediate and long-term future. Also, knowing what I should aim to do better than would be great too, in case you know... the image I might concoct of what a good demo should be like really isn't a good demo, or even if it might be way too ambitious.

[Edited by - caelk on September 10, 2010 4:00:35 AM]
Advertisement
It should be an elegant or creative solution to a problem, with clean code, well commented.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Okay, well... thanks for the reply, by the response, it looks like it doesn't necessarily have to be a game, though I still feel like doing one. But well... an open-ended question gets an open-ended response, I guess. Probably an error on my part, I apologize.