🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Would QA be the right entry-level position for me, or a waste of my skills?

Started by
8 comments, last by Orymus 13 years, 9 months ago
Let's start with a little bit of background on me and where I'm coming from:

* I graduated this past May with a degree in computer science from a small liberal arts university (University of Mary Washington).

* Last summer I interned with Mantech, a mid-sized government contractor. When I graduated in May I went to work for them full-time. My time here has been spent mostly coding GUI applications or plugins for commercial apps that are supposed to help the engineers do whatever they do. I've also been working on a 3-dimensional operating environment, but it looks like that project is going to go the way of all good things.

So, with that out of the way, let's talk about where I'm going. Or more accurately, where I'd like to be going.

Like many others here, I want to land a job in the gaming industry. I love games, yadda yadda, we've all heard the same thing out of millions of mouths before. I don't know about you, but a lot of what I hear out of those mouths just isn't practical. I don't want to be like that. I want to be realistic about what my options are and what I'm qualified to do. But I also don't want to sell myself short...