🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Computer Science course, or Game Development course?

Started by
16 comments, last by Rycross 13 years, 9 months ago
Hey guys, Im in high school. I live Toronto, ON. I decided I want to pursue a career in Game Development. Im an okay student, I have a 85% so I believe I have a lot of options. Here is there problem.

My local University, University of Toronto, holds a Computer Science course, and thats it. They have a Game Development Club, but that's it. It really close to home, and I probably won't have to rent an apartment there or something. It's about 20 kilometers away from home. And Im not really into Computer Science.

Now my seconds choice is, the Rochester Institute of Technology. This University is just over Niagra Falls, so I would most definitely have to rent an apartment. It's like 300 kilometers away from home so yeah.. however this University has a pure Game Development course AND it's been rated the 2nd best school for Game Development. I don't know how I'll get used to it over there though... I'm Canadian so you know, Im pretty sure you guys have some crazy stereotypes over there. I don't know if I'll like it. But this is what I want to do as a career.

I dont know, Im in a weird situation, can someone give me some advice please? Thanks in advance.
Advertisement