🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Cover letter - Tear it apart!

Started by
12 comments, last by Tom Sloper 13 years, 7 months ago
Hey guys, I'll be applying to an associate producer position here soon, and this is a draft of my cover letter. Tear it apart, let me know what sucks. Thanks!
[EDIT] new version posted below

Salutations,

I am writing today with regards to the Associate Developer position as advertised on your website. I feel that with my history with project management, my passion for games, and my engineering experience, I would be a perfect fit for this opening.

I am a recent graduate of the University of Minnesota, graduating with a BS in Computer science. While in school, I took classes such as Project Management which left me prepared for all aspect of the development life cycle. Through this class, I was introduced to the Alumni Center at the University of Minnesota, who were very interested in the creation of an iPhone application for their members. While developing the application, we met with the customer numerous times to create a well-defined scope document, outlining all of the deliverables of the project. Once we determined the scope of the project, we calculated a risk assessment of the project to determine the viability of our deadlines and budget considerations. When all deadlines and deliverables had been assessed, we created a Gantt chart to monitor our progress in all aspects of the project, from weekly meetings to code development. The project was developed using agile development methodology, specifically a variant of the Waterfall format, and all deliverables were created on time, and up to quality standards.