🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Am I on the right track?

Started by
3 comments, last by Chewybunny 13 years, 7 months ago
Hey guys. I am new to the forums. I am currently a junior in a east Texas high school. My grades are decent and my GPA is a 3.14. Hopefully by my senior year that will go up ( to maybe a 3.5 ). For the longest time I knew that what I wanted my career to be when I grew up had to have two things: a demand for creativity and a fun and relaxed work environment. The answer was simple: the video game industry. Now I am no artist ( though I am good with graphic design programs ) so I do not plan on being a concept artist or anything like that. I also do not enjoy English ( well, not the parts when I have to analyze some dead guys writing ). What I plan on doing is starting off as a programer. Currently, I am taking computer science ( we learn java ). Next year I plan on taking AP computer science. When I graduate I plan on going to a local college to get my basics done ( it is FAR more cheaper this way ) then I plan on going to UT North Texas at Denton or Angelo State in San Angelo. Right now I am more towards ASU due to cost but I am sure I get into both ( I get automatic admission ). Either way I plan on majoring in computer science with a emphasis on game development. This way I can ensure a job even in the event that I can't get into the game industry( which hopefully won't happen ). And no, I do not care for a masters in CS. That just takes more time and I have no patience. I want to get into the industry as soon as I can.

So as part of the game industry, what do you guys think? Am I on the right track? If your not in the industry, what are doing to get into the industry?

On a side note HAPPY TURKEY DAY!!
Advertisement
Hey! Welcome, and good luck with your endeavour :)