🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Help for a discouraged newbie

Started by
6 comments, last by hapaboy 22 years, 9 months ago
Ive been scouring these forums for some time and I am a complete newbie at all of this. I am, however becoming more afraid as I read more posts, especially the ones in the math and physics section. I am good at math, at least I thought so but every time I read one of those posts I feel like a complete idiot. I have gone up to calculus one which I took a couple years back. I lack practice so I have forgotten most of it. I really am intimidated and unable to understand much of what is done in that math and physics section and my morale drops every time I see it. Am I just dumb or is this normal for a complete rookie? Its all so daunting. Please someone help clear this up for me. from a discouraged newbie. thanks to all who reply =) Edited by - hapaboy on September 28, 2001 7:11:04 AM
Advertisement
What are you trying to do ?
You do not need all the materials presented here to program a game.
If you wish to make a 3D game with complex lighting and realistic physics then yes you will
need to have an understanding of matrices operations and physic models.
If you wish to make a 2D game, you will not need all of this. Tetris, Pong, Pacman are very simple
to program: they involve very little math.

Start small with simple steps:
- read the section for Beginners.
- buy some books on basic programming (the ones by Lamotte or by Lampton are excellent)
- start small and advance by steps (example of games you can develop at that step):
- setting up a window
- plotting a pixel in that window
- drawing lines, circles and rectangles (tic tac toe or a wire maze game)
- loading a bitmap, displaying a bitmap (basic sprite editor - not a game but useful)