🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

rpg problem

Started by
4 comments, last by vasagralem 22 years, 8 months ago
Hey guys, i''m proggraming an rpg.. well kindof.. i''ve got NO problem doing advanced graphics 3d or 2d, so i''m not worried about that. so i started doing the programing. I built a map editor. Then i built a tool to create the characters to go in the game. now the problem. i started programming the game but i realized a problem early on. subroutining. every time you clik the mouse my program runs through a series of ifelse statements or case statements. problem is it''s slowing the entire process down so much the graphics are no longer smooth. the reason i have so many testing statements on the click message is that i have to be able to click on every character, every dynamic object, the menu''s ect.. so my question. how do you test whether you clicked on somthing without putting 50 million if statements on the lbutton wm? (to prevent questions- c++ 6.0, directX 8, 16 bit at 800x600) i would apreciate any tips & tricks, you;ve compltetely missed the mark, or you''re screwed''s that anybody can give. thanks, ---vas
If you are expecting a kick in the balls, and you get a slap in the face... it's a victory.
Advertisement
a.) A switch statement helps if the cases evaluate to constants. However, a switch statement compiles to the same tests and jumps that if statements compile to.