🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Portfolio review and some questions

Started by
1 comment, last by SteveL31 8 years, 7 months ago

Hi,

I am currently an undergraduate Software Engineer,for the next semester I need to make my obligatory internship(part of my 4 year course), and I want to use the opportunity that Erasmus is giving me and make my internship at a foreign European country in a game studio.

I am spending time creating games for the past 5 years and I think this is what I want to do for the rest of my life and taking an intership in this field is a step in the right direction, I only have some questions and some advice on my portfolio site

1)Is my portfolio enough to have a chance in catching an internship in an AAA studio? Like Ubisoft or Bathesda? I personally don't have a problem working in an indie studio given that their games are in the style that I would like to work on.I just want to know where to aim.

http://www.liakisstefanos.me

2)I have a very good knowledge of java which of course is kinda useless in game programming,my c# as well my c++ is not bad either but I have some wholes.

3)All of my games are from scratch and I am not familiar with game engines like UDK and Unity3D(maybe some basics here) but I am familiar with component based entity systems and I am a optimization junkie who prefers to work on engine programming.

4)I am from Greece and some of the studios I like are in Finland and other non-English speaking countries, how is it going to be there for someone who knows only English? Are people(at least in AAA studios) use English to communicate(jobs assignments etc)

5)If I get into a situation where 2 companies are interested in me(and pass the tests) ,how can I decline the one? I mean should I tell them that I found job somewhere else?

Advertisement