🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Breaking in as a programmer

Started by
6 comments, last by Liza Shulyayeva 8 years, 5 months ago

Hello, I'm a long-term lurker here. But today I have a question and this looked like the best place to ask it :)

Up until last year I've seen a lot of openings for Game Programmers of all sorts, but mostly junior-level positions. I've gotten job offers myself but I decided to wait until I finished my degree.

Now they're all gone. Everyone is either hiring senior devs or doing "open internship applications". The few junior and internships I find either ignore me outright or tell me something along the lines of "we're looking for someone with more experience", despite my years of experience and several games under my belt. It's pretty much driving me insane.

So my question is: Did I miss something? Does everyone and their grandmother have a compsci degree now or is the industry downscaling?

Sorry if this sounds like a rant, I'm mostly curious if I fucked up and missed a hiring boom ph34r.png

Advertisement
Job openings tend to be seasonal for various positions. Same with seasonal layoffs near project endings.

For example, lots of projects want to finish up in time to be on stores for holidays, so they finish development in the summer and layoffs follow. A short glut of talent follows. Similarly when many projects are staffing up all at once there tends to be a big rush to hire junior developers. There tends to be a bigger rush for junior developers near graduation season, just in time to start them down a one-year march so they'll be fired in the annual summer layoffs the following year. But I digress.