🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Computer Science v Games Software Development (Uni courses)

Started by
9 comments, last by XenOne 8 years, 5 months ago

I'm a current A-level student and hobby game developer and am looking into a future in game's development. I'm am looking at potential uni courses and two have caught my attention, these being; Computer Science and Games Software Development. Both courses cover largely the same content and have the same entry requirements, however, the later is, as its name suggest more targeted towards game dev. So, I was wondering which course would be seen as more appealing to an employer?

Advertisement
It depends on the employer. But I reject the notion that you should let some hypothetical future employer's preference decide what you ought to major in. It's YOUR life, and YOU should be the sole person who decides what you major in. A better way for you to decide this is to make a decision grid. Hypothetical future employer preference can be one factor in your decision grid - and not even the highest-weighted factor. Decide between those two majors by considering cost, YOUR preference, and other factors. Read these:
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/m70.htm
http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson25.htm

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Most people here will tell you go for CS. It makes you a well-rounded programmer. And if you decide that you don't want a job games programming, then you are not pigeon-holed into that area and can find employment much easier in other fields.

But there's nothing wrong with double majoring or majoring in one and minoring in another. At least for the 1st year, there's gonna be major overlap between the two majors.

Beginner in Game Development?  Read here. And read here.