🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Need help with C++

Started by
9 comments, last by bosscheese 22 years, 7 months ago
I just started learning C++ a couple months ago and I want to start making small games like pong or pac-man. But I am having some trouble with input. I am using Turbo C++ and I need to know what the C++ equivelant of readkey in PASCAL or input$ in BASIC is. Or if you have any suggestions on a better way to get input form the keyboard without it being echoed to the screen and without it waiting for the enter key to be pressed then I''m open to suggestsions.
Advertisement
look up gets() or cin
I already know pretty much whatever there is to know about cin. But when you use cin it waits for the enter key to be pressed before it will stop getting input. It also prints what you are entering on the keyboard on the screen. I want a method that doesn''t do this.
if you're using a console for a dos or windows based pc, just use kbhit.
here's some code you can use

char kbhit1(void){#ifndef WIN32	int c;	struct termios new1,save1;	/* Get the current terminal settings */        if (tcgetattr(0,&save1)!=0) 	{		fputs("Failed to init",stderr);		return 2;	}	/* We'll use save as a copy to restore the original	* settings later	*/	new1=save1;	/* Set up terminal so that characters are not	* echoed and turn off canonical mode.	*/	new1.c_cc[VMIN]=1;	new1.c_lflag&=~ICANON;	new1.c_lflag&=~ECHO;	/* Send the new settings to the terminal */	tcsetattr(0,TCSANOW,&new1);	while(1)	{		c=getchar();		if (tcsetattr(0,TCSANOW,&save1)!=0)		{			printf("Failed to restore terminal",stderr);		}		return(c);	}#endif	return 0;}/* polls stdin to see if there is any input availible */int kbhit(){	int choice;#ifdef WIN32	while(!_kbhit());	choice = getch();	return choice;#else	choice = kbhit1();	return choice;#endif	return 0;