🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is it possible to make a good looking game in GDevelop?

Started by
7 comments, last by Alex Mees 4 years, 6 months ago

Hi, I am new here. I just made an account to ask this question. Sorry if this topic is in wrong section. Please feel free to move it where it would fit. Thanks.

I recently got interested in making my own game. But I am not a coder. So I discovered this free engine called GDevelop which doesn't require any coding knowledge. I am interested in making a Side Scroller Shooter game. But the few games which were made using this engine were all looking retro-ish. As if they were 20 years old. Is it possible to make a pretty and a modern looking game. An example would be the game called My Friend Pedro. Visually it looks pretty good.

Thanks before hand.
YogShakti

Advertisement

(Moving to the For Beginners section)

Generally speaking, the simpler engines like GDevelop are great for learning and for fun, but if you want top-level features you'll either have to opt for a more professional engine - or, build such an engine from the ground up, which is a daunting task.

Having said that, how the game looks is largely about the art rather than the programming. If you want things to look modern then that usually requires hiring some artists and giving them the tools to get the correct visuals into the game.

7 hours ago, Kylotan said:

(Moving to the For Beginners section)

Generally speaking, the simpler engines like GDevelop are great for learning and for fun, but if you want top-level features you'll either have to opt for a more professional engine - or, build such an engine from the ground up, which is a daunting task.