🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Feasible server setup for MMO?

Started by
10 comments, last by TeaTreeTim 4 years, 3 months ago

Hi, nice to join the forums~~

This is my first time to try and get an idea I had about how an MMO could work based on an idea I have for a game. I have tried to research as much as possible, so I hope I don't come across as a complete fool…

So, at the risk of embarrassing myself.. here goes…

Without going into precise numbers, like server loads, player counts, would a setup like this work in theory?

Example game universe:

System A- has 2 planets and a moon

System B - has 3 planets

stored on 2 separate servers.

Travelling between system A → B would be to switch to a different server through loadscreen (disguised...even though everyone would know). Something like a pretty lightspeed visual.

all items/data/anything that is owned by the player or picked up by the player from the server world is stored on the player server and is called by whatever server the player loads into at start / travels to.

Player Items would be categorized into 2 sets, persistent, non-persistent.

if a non-persistent item is discarded into a system server, it has a timeout and will be removed

persistent items would be stored on the system server and the item remains there until another player takes it and moves it to a different system.

Is a player data server unnecessary? is this handled on the clientside?

I really hope this isn't a hilariously stupid question. I am a total noob, please have mercy if this is the case…

Thanks for reading~~

Advertisement

I don't see why you need more than 1 server tbh. Just because the game world is spread out doesn't imply it has to be spread out in reality too?