🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to baby step into my dream game?

Started by
3 comments, last by Craig1020 4 years, 2 months ago

Hey Guys, so I'm very new to game development. I just messed around with a few tutorials and made some very small scale games via those tutorials. I haven't done any original work as of yet. I am using the unity engine.

My question is… what is an efficient way to baby step into my dream game. I have seen posts and others recommend making small scope games and I agree with that. My dream game is to make an RPG, similar to an FF6 or FF7. 2D back drop and either sprites or simple 3D models on the 2D background. What is a small version of that? Like a small dungeon crawler? Just so I can get an idea of what to make to help me gain the necessary skills to build up to that dream game skill status.

Also, if anyone knows of any programs to help create sprites or simple character models that would be amazing. Also sound as well, i think it would be cool if i could make my own soundtrack….become my own Nobuo Uematsu lol.

Sorry for this long post and all the questions, just excited and fired up. Thank you for taking the time to read and respond!

Advertisement

I have an offer for you. I'll send you a message.

PapaCuerpo said:
My dream game is to make an RPG, similar to an FF6 or FF7. 2D back drop and either sprites or simple 3D models on the 2D background. What is a small version of that?

Pretty much all retro games have a back-ground and some moving sprites on top of it, eg Space invaders, Galaga, Breakout, and even Pacman.