🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I'm new to programming video games. So I would like to know how to integrate the control of modeled characters in the source code? Thank you

Started by
4 comments, last by Alberth 4 years, 2 months ago

I'm new to programming video games. So I would like to know how to integrate the control of modeled characters in the source code? Thank you.

Advertisement

You have to be more specific, what do you mean by “integrate control of modeled characters in the source code?”. Do you want to load the model or Do you want to control that character model?

@undefined Control the movement of the character in the source code.

Nestor2409 said:
@undefined Control the movement of the character in the source code.

So, what do expect from people here? To write the code for you? To show you some random code that you can copy? Not gonna happen.

If you have specific questions or are stuck with certain aspects of what you want to achieve, then ask a more specific question.
Even if you are just looking for ideas, be more specific: What kind of movement do you want, in what kind of game? What tools/languages are you using? What integration do you already have for your character?

And, most importantly, look at your own post. Read it. Think about what anyone could answer. Then you'll see you have to ask better questions.

In the program you have several relevant variables, like x,y position, or x, y, z position if you are in 3D. Other possible variables are the direction the character is looking, what he is holding in his hands, what cloths he is wearing, basically anything that can change during the game. (That is, if he is for example always wearing green cloths, there is no point in having a ‘clothes’ variable, since it won't ever change.)