🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to start making a game engine?

Started by
6 comments, last by FoolishWasTaken 4 years, 1 month ago

Hey, I want to create my own 3D game engine, but I am CLUELESS on how to start. I don't want to make games, I just want to create a game engine for myself. I know it's hard, but it is what I am interested in. I've read Game Engine Architecture by Jason Gregory, and I am proficient in C++. I have some knowledge in modern OpenGL, and I am hoping to learn more as I go on. I just have no idea on how to make a game engine. All the sources online are very vague and broad about the topic, and I am wondering how to proceed. I have good software engineering knowledge as I have a degree in Software Engineering. I have good math knowledge as well.

I am mostly struggling with the whole layout and structure of the renderer, and all the objects to be rendered. What are the essential components of these objects? If you have any resource on building a game engine from scratch they would be helpful. Every book I've read so far gives an abstract overview of how a game engine works, but no code or structure of how to do it. Thank you!

Advertisement

I doubt there are many resources online that tell you how to structure an engine codewise, as those are very complicated topics with lots of code involved, and also there are like 200 ways how you could structure things. There are some great resources spreat around for the different topics, for example I based my renderer on this thread:

https://www.gamedev.net/forums/topic/604899-frostbite-rendering-architecture-question/page-2?page=1