🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

did i make a mistake starting with C#?

Started by
18 comments, last by hplus0603 3 years, 9 months ago

hi all, discussion thread.

i'm sure there is no straight answer to “which language is better”, however i just found out that all of my favorite games were made using C++, while i've been learning C# for the past 3 months.

should i quit my C# studies and move on o C++? or are the differences small enough for me to “finish what i've started” with c# before re-considering starting with C++?

am i going to have to learn everything from scratch?

None

Advertisement

Why not both?

Much of what you learn with C# transfers over to C++.

🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂<←The tone posse, ready for action.

@undefined time, devotion, concentration… it's better to focus on one thing that does the job, is it not?

None

@SassyPantsy I would say stick mainly with C# but dabble in C++ occasionally.

Why not pick up Unity, and put those C# skills to good use?

Personally, I would go with C++. It has the STL containers, which do automatic garbage collection like a C# program would. As long as you stay away from new and delete, you'll be fine – you really don't need those.

taby said:

Why not pick up Unity, and put those C# skills to good use?

Personally, I would go with C++. It has the STL containers, which do automatic garbage collection like a C# program would. As long as you stay away from new and delete, you'll be fine – you really don't need those.

A correction: The STL containers are not doing any automatic garbage collection. You can have some form of a GC if you use smart pointers and STL containers, but it's very far from what C# would do.