🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What's the simplest and fastest way to build an online multiplayer text-based game?

Started by
0 comments, last by notadeveloper 3 years, 9 months ago

Hello gamedev.net,

I’m working on a multiplayer online game and I need to know which tools to use and how to use them to accomplish certain tasks. The project is about creating sustainable multi-party agreements between organizations of various capacities. I’m not a web developer or game designer. I have only minimal experience with Python, and recently, I’ve started trying to learn JavaScript.

In the game, 20 players play 20 rounds. Each round has two parts: the action phase, in which players perform a number of actions, and the survey phase, in which players may choose to answer various questions about other players. Players should create a number of inputs, the dashboard must be updated automatically, and outputs must then be visible to all other players.

The game must incorporate these features:

- A public scoreboard/dashboard which reflects changes players make to existing agreements and the numeric values of those agreements in real time

• Players may propose new agreements, withdraw from or oppose existing agreements
  • The values of agreements are calculated by a simple formula
  • Players take their actions simultaneously
  • The results of players’ actions are visible on the dashboard at the end of each Action Phase

- Selective access to information

• Some players will have access to more information than other players
  • Players should be able to give and receive information from select players
  • Some information will be hidden from all players

- Automated calculations (literally nothing more complicated than an exponent)