🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How should I start learning C++ for game development?

Started by
6 comments, last by taby 3 years, 4 months ago

Hello! I am a student who is currently learning the basics of programming with C++. I can see in game dev C++ is kinda next level in game programming. It is widely used in different game engines like UE4 or UNIGINE. So where should i start to learn if I have some knowledge of C++. Should I take a tutorial of creating game in UE4 (or UNIGINE), or maybe start with 2D game with SFML?

Advertisement

If your goal is to learn game programming in C++, using an engine is not the best idea - because the tutorials will teach you how to use the engine, now how or why it works this way.

So, like you said, start with a very simple 2D game and finish it. Then make a new game, a little more complicated than the previous one and so on… ?

If you need some resources, these are the ones I recommend:

I hope that helps you. ?

None

This book is really good for getting started in C++.

https://www.amazon.com/Beginning-Through-Game-Programming-Fourth-ebook-dp-B00LZW07P0/dp/B00LZW07P0/

It is just using command-line apps, but it's a great place to learn before you get started with a library.

Once you read that book you should have a basic understanding of the language (not complete, as that can take years, but enough knowledge to continue). Then try to make some simple 2D games on your own: Pong, Breakout, Snake, Asteroids, Space Invaders, etc.