🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Null textures in DX12

Started by
3 comments, last by microsista 3 years, 1 month ago

Hello, I am a student trying to implement my own real time pathtracer in DXR but I am facing a problem with properly loading textures into GPU memory under DX12. The app is based on Microsoft's DXR Samples and this is how I load the texture file:

This is how I copy It from the upload heap into default heap along with other buffers

This is how the CreateTextureSRV method is implemented:

CreateDDSTextureFromFile12 is copied from “Introduction to 3D Game Programming in DirectX 12” by Frank Luna

This is how the texture appears in PIX

descriptor heap with the texture view

This is how it looks

Full source code in experimental branch: Microsista/Pathtracer (github.com)

What am I doing wrong? I've been sitting on this since yesterday and I can't figure it out.

Thanks

Advertisement

I've managed to load textures onto the GPU and display them, but it works only when running directly from the .exe file

and not when running inside visual studio, what could be the reason for that?